What is AWS? A Beginner guide to learn AWS

As you know this is the era of Cloud Computing. There are 2 big names in Cloud Computing which have covered the market, one is Microsoft and another one is Amazon.

If you are new to Cloud Computing then first read my previous blog on Cloud Computing

So in Cloud Computing, Microsoft has offered their services and called it Microsoft Azure on other hand Amazon called their cloud service as Amazon Web Service (AWS).

In this blog, I will explore below topics.

  • What is Amazon Web Service
  • AWS Services
  • AWS Tools
  • AWS Certifications
  • Why AWS?

What is AWS?

AWS is a Cloud service offered by Amazon.

Below is the definition mentioned on Amazon website.

“Amazon Web Services (AWS) is a secure cloud services platform, offering compute power, database storage, content delivery and other functionality to help businesses scale and grow.” Reference – Amazon Website

So what AWS provides to a customer?

AWS provides all IT infrastructure services such as data storage, database, networking and much more.

AWS provides below services:

  • Website Hosting
  • Backup and Recovery
  • DevOps
  • High-Performance Computing
  • Internet Of Things (IoT)
  • Business Applications

AWS also follows the characteristics of Cloud Computing such as on-demand resource, scalability, performance.

The very basic of AWS is Amazon EC2, EC2 is a tool which shows how many instances of a VM is running, how many load balancers are there, what is static and dedicated IP. We will see the useful tools in details in the later blog.

AWS uses following tools:

For Computing:

  • Amazon EC2
  • Amazon VPC
  • AWS Batch
  • Amazon Lightsail

For Storage:

  • Amazon S3 (Simple Storage Service)
  • Amazon EBS (Elastic Block Storage)
  • Amazon Glacier

For Database:

  • Amazon Aurora
  • Amazon RDS
  • Amazon DynamoDB

For Migration:

  • AWS Migration Hub
  • AWS Snowball
  • AWS Snowball Edge

For Developer Tools:

  • AWS CodeStar
  • AWS CodeCommit
  • AWS CodeBuild
  • AWS X-Ray

Similarly, AWS offers Analytics, Management Tools, and Mobile Service Tools. Nowadays lots of Developers, Architect and Specialist are looking for AWS certification.

AWS Certifications

There are 3 types of certification including.


  • AWS Certified Solutions Architect
  • AWS Certified Developer
  • AWS Certified SysOps Administrator


  • AWS Certified Solutions Architect
  • AWS Certified DevOps Engineer


  • AWS Certified Advanced Networking
  • AWS Certified Big Data

If you are interested in AWS certification (Associate Level Solutions Architect). Please follow this blog – AWS Certified Solutions Architect – Associate Level

To get more about AWS Certification, please follow this link

Why AWS?

AWS is one of the fastest growing cloud computing platforms. AWS certification is the most valuable and popular certification right now. 
According to an article in Forbes, AWS certification is on top among 15 top paying IT certifications in the year 2016.

Reference link: https://www.forbes.com/sites/louiscolumbus/2016/02/21/15-top-paying-it-certifications-in-2016-aws-certified-solutions-architect-leads-at-125k/#814d3367978c 

In the year 2016, AWS had more than 100 services up and running and that grew between the year 2011 and 2016.

You may also like – 

Leave a Comment